Zamboanga holds fourth anti-RH rally

Posted By: Chris On:

DIPOLOG City, July 27, 2011?It was the fourth pro-life demonstration in two months by the people of Zamboanga del Norte.

After holding anti-RH rallies in Dipolog (May 31), Sindangan (June 29) and Dapitan (July 6), Zamboanga residents again demonstrated their opposition to the controversial piece of legislation in Dipolog City over the weekend, with youth, members of faith-based groups, the clergy and non-affiliated individuals numbering almost 10,000 in attendance.

The July 24 “Diocesan Prayer Rally Against the Reproductive Health Bill” started with a Eucharistic Celebration at Plaza Magsaysay, with main celebrant Most Rev. Jose R. Manguiran, DD, together with Dipolog Diocesan clergy.

By mid-afternoon, the participants, bearing messages of opposition to the Reproductive Health (RH) bill both in English and in their native dialect, went on a Walk for Life along the main thoroughfares of the city.

Not even dark skies and some drizzling dissuaded the people from staying on to hear the messages of invited speakers at the forum that took place right after the Walk.

Speaking to boost the cause of life were Manguiran, Human Life International (HLI)-Philippines director Rene Bullecer, M.D., and Family and Life Ministry Youth representative Jan Louenn Lumanta.

“Magaling po na speaker si Dr. Bullecer. Mahigit isang oras siyang nagsalita pero ang mga tao nanduon pa rin,” said Lumanta, who had taken part in the past several rallies in the province.

“Walang umaalis kahit na umaambon.”

“Sa mga napuntahan kong rally ay marami pong bumabati sa akin, lalo na mga kabataan na talagang nagsabi pro-RH sila [dati] pero ngayon naliwanagan at anti-RH na,” he added.

Also taking part in the afternoon’s program were Dipolog Diocese Vicar General Msgr. Emigdio T. Socias, Family and Life Ministry Cathedral Chaircouple Nonoy and Lilia Balansag, and speaker Sir Knight William Quirante. (CBCP for Life)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors