National Youth Commission to award 10 outstanding youth orgs

Posted By: Chris On:

MANILA, Oct. 25, 2011?Ten exceptional youth organizations across the country which have contributed to the development of their local communities, schools and work place, through innovative and valuable projects are set to be recognized in awarding ceremonies later this month.

Started in 2002, the Ten Accomplished Youth Organization (TAYO) has recognized and supported the outstanding contributions of youth organizations to the country. This year, awards will be given to ten new outstanding youth organizations, groups, clubs and societies that have made a difference in their communities.

According to the national youth commission’s website, the 9th Ten Accomplished Youth Organization awarding ceremonies will take place at Malacañang’s Heroes Hall on October 27 at 10 a.m.-12 noon, with President Benigno Simeon Aquino as guest of honor.

Finalists include NCR- Ateneo Special Education Society, Linangan Sa Imahen Retorika at Anyo, UP Junior Marketing Association, Alliance of Young Nurse Leaders & Advocates International, Inc., and Indak Kabataan.

Finalists from Luzon are: University of the Cordilleras-Hapiyoh’ Mi Cultural Group, Kairos Band, Philippine Junior Jaycees Inc., AUL-Stage, and The Mountain Collegian.

From the Visayas, the finalists are Abellana National School Rescue Group Inc., Aklan Catholic College, Hayag Youth Organization; Incorporated, AKMA – RESBAK and Industrial Engineering Council.

Youth groups from Mindanao made it as finalists: Young Mindanawans Peace Builders, Youth Solidarity For Peace, UP Omega Alpha Fraternity and UP Omega Alpha Sorority, Association of Locally Empowered Youth in Northern Mindanao, and Maco Youth For Peace.

The 20 finalists will undergo final screening on October 25, 2011 and from which will emerge the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations. Panel of judges include Senator Kiko Pangilinan and Mr. Bam Aquino.

Aside from the recognition, the winning organizations will receive a trophy and a grant of Php 50,000.00 intended to fund new projects or continue their long -term programs.

TAYO 9 is presented by the Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines, Inc., and organized by the National Youth Commission in partnership with the Office of Senator Kiko Pangilinan. Also supporting the search are the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Department of Agriculture, Philippine Information Agency, Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation, and the Philippine Center of Young Leaders in Governance Foundation, Inc. (Jandel Posion)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors