Migrants’ children achievers awarded for excellence

Posted By: admin On:

MANILA, March 16, 2013—Children of migrant workers who excelled in their studies and leadership skills were awarded in a ceremony held at the National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCAA) in Intramuros, on March 15. 

Some ten students from different areas in Luzon were named Ten Outstanding Sons and Daughters of OFWs Student Achievers (TOSDOSA) during the 6th Gawad Anak OFW award organized by the Episcopal Commission for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People (ECMI). 

The student achievers were cited for excellence in their academic studies, leadership qualities and socio-involvement. 

Msgr. Joselito Asis, CBCP secretary general, stressed the significance of the event and its impact on children of OFWs. 

The event makes the children of migrants to appreciate more the difficulties of their parents who are working abroad, he said. 

“Learn the value of hard work,” Asis told the awardees. “Every cent sent to you by your parents working abroad is earned from hard work, you must use it well. So this is one value that you must take into consideration always.” 

He emphasized that a person who does not value hard work will not appreciate his or her status in life. 

Recognizing the value of hard work and diligence will lead one to appreciate more the value of suffering, he said. 

Awardees for the 6th Gawad Anak OFW are Marizol Marie Bautista of Bacnotan National High School in La Union; Queenie Arielle L. Basilio of Holy Family Academy in Angeles City; Ma. Angelica D. Dulay from Mangatarem Catholic School in Pangasinan; Frenz Aivereen A. Flores from La Union National High School in San Fernando, La Union; Claiven Keith A. Fontanos from Christ the King College High Department in San Fernando, La Union; Nicole Jane L. Gimarino of Saint Louis School in Solana, Nueva Vizcaya; Patricia Jem C. Pangan of Angeles University Foundation in Pampanga; Samantha M. Poblete of Infant Jesus Academy of Silang, Inc. in Silang, Cavite; Cloie Anne P. Rabinetas of the School of Our Lady of the Atocha in Solana, Nueva Vizcaya; and Lara Denielle C. Zuniga of St. Michael’s Institute in Bacoor, Cavite. 

Merit awards were also given to the twenty finalists and their respective schools. 

ECMI executive secretary Fr. Edwin Corros, CS, gave the opening remarks during the awarding ceremonies. (Jandel Posion)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors