Laiko to hold congress of the laity; biennial convention

Posted By: Chris On:

MANILA, Oct. 16, 2011—The Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas is organizing the 2nd Congress of the Laity on October 21, 2011 at Pope Pius XII Catholic Center, Manila.

Themed “Laiko at 60, Standing Firm in the Faith, Sharing the Richness of the Mother Church”, the congress will have Msgr. Gerardo Santos, executive secretary of the CBCP-Episcopal Commission on Catechesis and Catholic Education as keynote speaker.

Laiko National President, Edgardo J. Tria-Tirona will lead the formal opening of the Congress, followed by a message from Pope Benedict XVI to be read by Msgr. Gabor Pinter of the Apostolic Nunciature.

Parañaque Bishop Jesse Mercado, current chairman of the Episcopal Commission on the Laity will speak on the developments from the first National Laity Congress up to present.

A panel of speakers are set to discuss during the afternoon session the way and means to evangelize the future church today.

Fr. Francis Lucas, executive secretary of the CBCP Commission on Social Communications and Mass Media will speak on Mass Media: threat or partner?; Ms. Eileen Esteban of Youth Pinoy will discuss New Aeropagi, internet, social networks; and Atty. Jo Imbong, the CBCP Legal Office executive secretary will dwell on Christian Citizenship in the Philippines Today.

The congress will be capped with a Eucharistic celebration to be led by Manila Archbishop Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales.

Biennial convention

Back to back with the Laity Congress is the 17th National Biennial Convention themed “Standing in the Faith, Sharing the Richness of Mother Church for Social Transformation” to be held also in the same venue on Oct. 22-23.

Bishop Jesse Mercado, Laiko National Spiritual Director and ECLA chairman will preside the opening Eucharistic celebration.

Keynote speaker is Mr. Jesus Estanislao, Chairman of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

The biennial convention will oversee the election of the new members of the Laiko Board of Trustees who will serve the Laiko Board for two years. (CBCPNews)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors