Bishops, anti-RH lawmakers meet over lunch

Posted By: admin On:

MANILA, Jan. 28, 2013—Catholic bishops and legislators who voted against the reproductive health bill pledged to stay in touch and work together against anti-life measures.

In their first meeting after the RH bill became a law, members of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines and some legislators on Monday met for lunch at the Pius XII Center in Manila.

But Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma, CBCP president, quickly clarified that the meeting had nothing to do with politics and the May 2013 elections.

“We are tendering this luncheon as appreciation for what they have done,” Palma said.

“This is not something we have to take for granted because it is done for their great love for the country and what the values mean to them,” he said.

The meeting was held after as the bishops concluded their three-day plenary assembly.

The CBCP has repeatedly said it is not endorsing any candidate because their role is only to give guidelines to the faithful on what to look for in a candidate.

“We are not in any way partisan. We do not tell the whole world who to vote or name people who are the right person to vote,” Palma said.

The CBCP head added that they just share the Church’s teachings and help the people in the process of discernment.

“We trust in the discerning process of the people to choose by themselves, believing they know how (to choose),” said Palma.

Aside from Palma, some of the ranking church officials seen at the meeting were Manila Archbishop Luis Antonio Cardinal Tagle and retired Cebu Archbishop Ricardo Cardinal Vidal.

Among the lawmakers present include Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Senate Majority leader Vicente Sotto, and Sen. Gringo Honasan.

Cebu Rep. Pablo Garcia, , Ilocos Norte Rep. Imelda Marcos, Bohol Rep. Arturo Yap, Manila Rep. Amado Bagatsing, Cavite Rep. Lani Mercado, Zambales Rep. Mitos Magsaysay, among others, were also there. (CBCPNews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors